Blackdown CTC (Part Two – The Blackdown Burglar!)

Please read Part 1 of this blog first. You can view it by clicking this link.

Canteen.jpg

The Blackdown Burglar was the main conversation topic of the day, next to Blackdown Christmas. Our day’s schedule consisted of a confidence course, also known as the obstacle course, and it would continue with biathlon later in the day (Running and shooting.)

After dragging myself out of bed in the morning, I saw that many of my bunk-mates had money stolen from them. I was one of the lucky people because I wasn’t missing anything. However, I was extremely tired, and I was hardly able to get through the day.

Of course, the horrible sleep during the night effected my attempts to complete the obstacle course. I nearly fell asleep whilst crawling through an obstacle, however I was still able to complete the course. I got to the bench to see the sergeants punishing people who didn’t drink water to rehydrate. When we had the option to go around the course a second time, I took a 15 minute nap.

Later on in the day, we had to do a biathlon course. Biathlon is basically a running and shooting course. We would run a lap, shoot five targets, then run another lap, and shoot another five targets. As I mentioned in part 1 of this post, I have a horrible shot. I missed all ten targets, but I ended up with an average time.

Yet again, it was dinner time. However, we didn’t have a normal dinner, it was ‘German Night’ at the mess hall. I had to eat Bratwurst (Pork and ground spices) and schnitzel (fried meat).

I spoke to one of the sergeants in charge of our group of cabins. We had two sergeants stand in front of our cabin for a large majority of the night, so I was finally able to get some sleep.

It was finally Sunday, our day off, and I was homesick. My parents picked me up to leave for the day. We went out for Lunch, and I returned to camp later in the day. My parents brought me earplugs so I would be able to sleep through the tent’s noise during the rest of the week. When I got back, I did a few chores (laundry, etc), and I watched a movie that was being played at camp later in the night. We watched ‘Let’s be Cops’ which wasn’t that great of a movie. I would rate it 6/10.

I slept well, not having to hear anyone else talking when I had my earplugs in.

The next day began normally. I woke up again, I made my bed, changed into my uniform, ate breakfast and waited in my tent for about an hour. I joined the group as we hiked into the forest. We would be doing a ropes course. The course was made up of three sections, of which we could only choose one. We had to choose if we wanted to cross between hills on a 3, 2 or 1 rope bridge. On the 3 rope course, you would walk on a single rope while holding on to two different ropes. On the two rope course, you would be walking on one rope and holding on to the other. On the single rope course, you would have to hold onto the rope with nothing to stand on.

I have very little upper body strength, so the single rope course didn’t seem like a viable option. Instead, I decided to do the two rope course. I successfully crossed, despite the wind pushing me to the side.

After that we went to the mess hall for lunch. According to some of the people sitting at my table (which at this point, I realised weren’t a trusted source of information [but that’s another story]), there were police in Blackdown, looking for the ‘Blackdown Burglar’. I also learned that the next day, we would be on an overnight camping trip in the woods. This trip was actually going to be very nice. We would be able to choose our tent-mates and I would be able to sleep soundly for once. We spent the rest of the day preparing our camping equipment and packing our things. I went to sleep, ready for the camping trip to come. I was unaware about what was going to happen the next night.

To Be Continued

Return to the website on February 12th to see the third part of this story.

4 thoughts on “Blackdown CTC (Part Two – The Blackdown Burglar!)

  1. Pingback: Blackdown CTC (Part 1-4) – Colin's Site

  2. Pingback: Blackdown CTC Part 4 – Basic Drill and Ceremonial – Colin's Site

  3. Pingback: Blackdown CTC (Part Three -Going Home) – Colin Blog Site

  4. Pingback: Blackdown CTC (Part One – Blackdown Christmas) – Colin Blog Site

Leave a Reply.

