Rant – Simple Grammar Mistakes

Grammar is the difference between “Let’s eat, Dad.” or “Let’s eat Dad.” Grammar can entirely change the meaning of a sentence. Grammar can make a piece of writing excel, however, if one does not know how to use it properly, it can ruin the fluency of reading. I am bothered most by the fact that the grammar failures I see many people make are extremely simple.

Y, R, and U are letters not words. They are written why, are, and you. (As in; why are you so horrible at grammar.) I despise when people write like this. It takes half of a second more to write the entire word. It only takes pressing two more buttons on a keyboard, or writing two more letters with a pencil/pen.

Sentences, names, dates, and many other words start with CAPITAL LETTERS! Maybe, people don’t understand how the Caps Lock button works. If you press the Caps Lock button, EVERY LETTER YOU WRITE WILL BE CAPITALIZED. If you hold the Shift key, letters you write will be capitalized while you hold the key down. It isn’t complicated at all, so learn how to do it!

Contractions are when you use apostrophes to combine words. For example; they’re, you’re, or haven’t. I find it torturous to read sentences that use the word ‘your’ in sentences like “Your terrible at grammar.” Your is defined as “belonging to or associated with the person or people that the speaker is addressing.” (Thanks for the definition Google.) You’re is short for you are.”

One thing about these simple grammar mistakes I truly hate, is that people blame auto-correct for most of their failures. They need to be introduced to a simple action known as proofreading. If you don’t know what proofreading is, I suggest you return to the first grade.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Rant – Simple Grammar Mistakes

  1. Yes please…more proofreading! The oops that usually gets me is the lower case “i.” I suspect the person writing the piece is using a cell phone, which may or may not have an editor they want to use. It’s easy to make this bo bo, but in my opinion puts the author into a submissive stance, which may cost them authenticity. Just a mention. My glass house would be using lots of exclamation points. No excuse…I just love to use them!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Quite an enjoyable rant. Unfortunately, texting is ruining the art of the written word. Who has time for punctuation, let alone some pesky syntax?
    P.S. Is there A-1 Sauce handy for Dad? I imagine he might need some seasoning….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “Let’s eat Dad” is great! Colin, I started to think I might be the last person on Earth concerned about grammar. The worst thing is getting a work email that uses there instead of their, to instead of too, or absolutely incorrectly used words like…”It’s a mute point.” Ugh.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. well I appreciate your post and I know a few others who are grammar folks (if you do not mind me calling you this) – but I think that in the blog world – there are exceptions – in my opinion – it usually is an informal arena – unless the blogger is writing a serious piece or has a business blog (and I almost wrote biz blog) – and I guess for me – I have just grown a lot in this area – I hated “U” and “R” – but now use them as shorthand tools, which makes writing flow in the informal setting.
    just my thoughts – but I respect yours too.

    Like

Leave a Reply.

